It’s Complicated is available for preorder

3 07 2008

Preorders are closed. If you would like to order a copy of this book, you can do so here.

Cashier: How are you?
have them a week or two before GenCon. You can preorder <a
Customer: Do you want the honest answer?

Cashier: Yes.

Customer: I feel like the business end of a donkey. I am extremely hungover and did a mountain of cocaine last night. Now I have to make dinner for a 68-year-old gay artist who is trying to fuck me.

Cashier: I’m… sorry.

Customer: And the woman I love is in another state pregnant with her ex-boyfriend’s baby, and I wish the baby was mine. And I’m sleeping with a dominatrix. And it’s all true.

-From “Overheard in New York”

Do you like stories about happy, functional, well-adjusted people who fall in love with the right people, say the right things, and live happily ever after?

If so, this is definitely not the game for you.

It’s Complicated is a about personality quirks, secrets both dark and embarrassing– but most of all, it’s about convoluted, messy, compelling, and occasionally one-sided relationships. This game is designed to facilitate play in the style of movies like The Royal Tenenbaums, and television shows like Ugly Betty and Pushing Daisies.

It’s probably going to be around 40 pages, 4.25″ x 7″, with color interiors. Art by Shreyas Sampat, layout by Nathan Paoletta, and game by me!

I’m really excited. I hope you are too!

(Also, Shreyas and I may be running a couple games of this and of Mist-Robed Gate at DexCon. Stay tuned!)

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 07 2008
3 » [TII] 014: Ben Lehman on XXXXtreme Street Luge

[...] like Vin Diesel!” 06:23: Pull quote by Elizabeth Shoemaker, who’s coming out with It’s Complicated quite soon 06:34: New quote, attributed to Joshua and Ralph Mazza 07:11: Ashcans aren’t [...]

15 07 2008
» [TII] 014: Ben Lehman on XXXXtreme Street Luge

[...] like Vin Diesel!” 06:23: Pull quote by Elizabeth Shoemaker, who’s coming out with It’s Complicated quite soon 06:34: New quote, attributed to Joshua and Ralph Mazza 07:11: Ashcans aren’t [...]

16 07 2008
DexCon fun « Dissolute Games

[...] Gate to give away. If you’re not going to be at DexCon, one comes with every copy of It’s Complicated, and with every preorder of Mist-Robed [...]

6 08 2008
Matt Caron

I am *so* trying to get my wife and her friend to play this game. She thinks RPG’s are silly, but will play miniatures games, and a SotC one shot I ran was “okay”. However, we love Pushing Daisies and she loves soap operas, Golden Girls, etc. and such things are all based on character interaction. I’m just trying to find a game we can play together so I can get my fix.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

